Is Running a Priority?

We all have priorities in life and keeping them in balance is what makes life easier. Where does running fit into your list of priorities? Is it too high? Is it too low? These are questions we will examine and ensure running is at the right place within your priorities.

First things first…let’s examine your priorities. For some of you, you might have never done this. Take a look at how you spend your time on a weekly basis. Set some time aside to rank or value how important each activity engaged in actually was to you. I challenge you to keep a journal of your activities throughout the week. Even go so far as to write down how often (and for how long) you spend watching television and participating in social media.

As for me, my priorities are quite clear. First comes my faith, then family, school and running. I love my wife more than anything else and enjoy the time spent with each other. I regard school as my full time job so it is also very important to me.

High up on my priorities list is running. I love getting in a good run. Having a running goal, staying in shape and having an area of my life in which I can improve are paramount for me. Running has so many benefits, it is hard to not have running on my priorities list.

Even though it is high on my priorities list, running is right where it should be. If I put running too high, my family and social life would suffer. If I put it too low, I may never get out to run because I would value going out every night more.

At the end of the day, your individual running habits will form from where running falls into your priorities. If you do not know where running fits in, take a look at how you spend your time. Once you’ve done this, it will be clear as to where running fits into your life.

Leave a Reply

